Atlantic Row D-day


20130117-171417.jpg

The day has finally arrived when we set off. I’m writing this slightly ahead of schedule as I’m not sure how much time we will have prior to going. It’s been building over the 10 days or so with anticipation but I cannot wait to get out there. Waiting for the weather window has been like the quite before the storm.
I have always thought and quite a few people have said that if you aren’t nervous then it isn’t important. My stomach has been doing flips for days a bit like I had before a rugby match but on a grander scale! My thoughts are on the journey ahead of what we will experience and see as individuals and more so as a team.

Just making it as far as we have has been quite a journey for all of us and it is now coming to the final straight albeit a long one!

As we have spent time together as a team you can see the look on everyone’s faces of the anticipation and excitement to ride the waves and row our hearts out to Barbados. We want that sub 30 day time and the record.

So as we walk down the gangway for the final time, good bye to Gran Canaria. Bon chance, sterkte, good luck and many more for all those aboard any ocean rowing boat crossing the Atlantic this season but particularly for Team Avalon and her crew.

Finally thanks to everyone who has helped family, friends and sponsors you are all part of the journey and the achievement. Show your support and donate to the RNLI just follow the link below.

http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/fundraiser-web/fundraiser/showFundraiserPage.action?userUrl=BennoRawlinson&faId=272688&isTeam=false

3 thoughts on “Atlantic Row D-day

  1. Hello! I realize this is sort of off-topic however I needed to ask.
    Does running a well-established blog like yours require a lot
    of work? I am completely new to running a blog however I do write in my journal everyday.
    I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my own experience and views online. Please let me know if you have any ideas or tips for brand new aspiring blog owners. Thankyou!

    1. Hey
      Cheers, I havent had the chance to keep it up to date as I would like. I would suggest probably keeping your journal going even if you do start a blog but the best way is to get into the habit of doing a smaller piece more often. Maybe set some time a side each week.
      They dont have to take too much time most of that comes in the start up. good luck

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.